Within the blaze

Higher love, such a thing could never be
regardless of gain, that someone could love me.
I searched and thought I found
but all that’s left, deadening sound.

Of those steps that trailed away,
of those words I couldn’t say.
A higher love burned so bright,
as it guided me through the night.

And now what’s left, fire a blaze
left behind in the maze,
this darkness, my blanket haze.
Your higher love, I believe be true,
but that higher love has made me unglued.

As I watch you go,
and depart my soul
leaving me behind
to pay the toll.

A higher love I could not regret,
but this higher love I can’t forget
because a higher love did make me see,
but this  higher love has abandoned me.

SR

Leave a Reply

